Kerala Biotechnology Commission

The importance of Biotechnology for India is manifold. In addition to generating trained manpower and a knowledge base, India is proving to be an ideal setting for manufacturing activities and high-level biotechnology research programmes. It can bring revolutionary changes in people’s lives and provide he path way to the unexplored secrets of nature.

Government of Kerala announced its Biotechnology Policy in 2003. To achieve the vision in Biotechnology, to ensure hazzle-free implementation and to provide sustained leadership and resources, two major initiatives, Kerala Biotechnology Board and Kerala Biotechnology Commission were made in 2003. The Biotechnology Board will take all top level administrative and financial decisions to create the best environment in the state for growth of BT. The Kerala Biotechnology Commission is responsible for the implementation of the BT policy and other guidelines laid down by the Biotechnology Board

The BT policy for Kerala is designed to catalyze the development and application of BT, taking advantage of the State’s resources and emphasizing its specific needs while meeting global requirements. The policy is aimed to ensure the rapid exploitation of pipeline technologies and opportunities available in the State to products and processes and to promote the sustained build-up of an elite knowledge cadre and knowledge base through the strengthening and creation of educational and R&D institutions, establishing infrastructure and putting in place administrative, regulatory, legal and financial framework conducive for investment and growth of BT enterprises, for the economic development and human welfare.

Members of  Kerala Biotechnology Commission

1. Executive Vice President, KSCSTE, Sasthra Bhavan. Pattom, Trivandrum-4 Chairman,Biotechnology Commission
2. Prof. K. P Gopinathan, PhD, FNA, FNASc, FASc, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore. Member,Biotechnology Commission
3. Prof. Professor. M. Radhakrishna Pillai, FRCPath, PhD, FASc, FNASc, FAMS Director, Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram.
4. Dr. K. R. S Krishnan Mtech, PhD,Senior Vice President, Strategic Planning(R&D) HLL Life Care Ltd, Trivandrum.
5. Mr. Saji George, Mtech, PhD, Assistant Director, Division of Fermentation and Natural Products, Piramal Life Sciences, Mumbai.
6. Prof. P. N Rangarajan, PhD, FASc, FNASC, Dept. Of Biochemistry, Indian Institute of Science, Banglore.
7. Prof.C.C.Kartha
M.D, FASc, FNASc, FAMS, Former Dean, Professor & Head Department of Molecular Cardiology, Sree Chitra Thirunal Institute of medical Science & Technology, Professor of Eminence, Rajiv Gandhi Centre For Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram
8. Dr. Joshy Jacob
Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology , Emory Vaccine Center, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia , USA and Visiting Professor for Viral Diseases, Rajiv Gandhi Centre for Biotechnology, Thiruvananthapuram
9. The Member Secretary, Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment, Sasthra Bhavan , Pattom, Thiruvananthapuram-650004 Member Convener